Healthy obsession

Hello everyone,

there are people, places and works of Art that have inspired me throughout my career but one in particular has always fascinated me and when I saw it for the first time at the Victoria and Albert Museum (Generally known as the V&A) in London, it created a fever of inspiration and what I call a healthy obsession, which led to the creation of a work that is,  arguably, one of the best in my career: GIAMBOLOGNA.

Giambologna was born in France. After  studies in Antwerp, he moved to Italy  in 1550, and studied in Rome . Giambologna made detailed study of the sculpture of Classical antiquity. He was also much influenced by Michelangelo, but developed his own style.

Inspired by Giambologna’s sculpture Samson Slaying a Philistine, I produced a series of works and studies that have set my Art apart from what I was doing before; yes, I was never the same artist after achieving what I have achieved with this work. That’s why you can call it a ‘ healthy obession’. Grazie Giambologna!

Hope you enjoy it

Best

Francesco

Giambologna V

Giambologna IV

DSCN3082

Giambologna IIIGiambologna IIGiambologna Ifrom-giambolognastudio-from-a-sculpture-of-gianbolognaDIGITAL CAMERADIGITAL CAMERADIGITAL CAMERA

2 responses

  1. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A theme like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    With thanks

    July 24, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    • just go to the tamplates and you will find the options! really east

      July 27, 2013 at 12:03 pm

Leave a Reply

